To whom shall we go?

After weeks of hearing Gospel after Gospel about how Jesus is the bread of life and how we have to eat his flesh and drink his blood to have eternal life, we finally got to the end this week. The part in the story where most followers finally state the obvious. “Are you sure? That’s hard to swallow!” (no pun intended)

Shocked at this teaching, many left and went back to their old life because they couldn’t accept that concept. When the disciples were the only ones left, Jesus asks if they are going to leave too. I love the honesty that follows. Simon Peter says to Jesus, “To whom shall we go? You have the words of eternal life.”

It’s a question I’ve asked multiple times. I’ve struggled with whether or not to remain in the Catholic Church. My thoughts and beliefs on certain things have been evolving and I didn’t know how to be Catholic while not fitting into what I thought meant being a perfect Catholic. When I began to research what churches to visit, I realized something like the disciples did that day. I believe in the true presence of Christ in the Eucharist. I believe in the Sacraments. I believe in One, Holy, Catholic, & Apostolic Church. I found myself asking, “To whom shall I go? To where? How could I live without these things?” The answer was clear. Nowhere.

Which interestingly enough, leaves me speaking the same words as Joshua from the first reading from this Sunday’s Mass:

As for me and my household, we will serve the LORD.

Leave a Reply

